Change Background:
The Ultimate Destination for Soul Music
Home Classic Soul Archives Artist A-Z Features SoulMusic Records Voice Your Choice Soul Talkin' Reviews Hall of Fame The Soul Store
The World of David Nathan Dedicated to Soul Express Yourself! Appreciation Features Contributing Writers Writer's Blogs Giving R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Featuring special guests Najee, The Sweet Inspirations and 4 To The S To The Midwestside, "Reinvention" expresses David's first passion, singing. Encouraged by musical friends such as Bonnie Raitt and the late Doris “Just One Look” Troy to pursue his musical dream and recalling great coaching he received from the likes of Roberta Flack, Nathan chose his February 15 2003 birthday to record the bulk of the album and asked to describe his music, he muses, “It’s like a throwback to another era. When people listen they hear shades of Nina Simone, Esther Phillips, even Billie Holiday. People may be surprised by what they hear on the CD but despite my very sincere and genuine love of R&B music, most of the songs I chose fall into the general realm of jazz/pop standards.”

“A soulful, well-produced debut of jazz-flavored classic R&B, sung by one of its most passionate devotees.” Singer/songwriter Bonnie Raitt

“You waited for us to fall off the charts before doing this CD, David! It’s great, a mixture of blues, jazz…and soul!” Singer James Ingram

“David Nathan sings from the heart for the love of it all. David nurtured and helped bring blues, soul and rhythm & blues music to London and subsequently blues, soul and rhythm & blues music nurtured and inspired David to record this project. REINVENTION is an honest and personal expression of music he holds dear, infused with raw passion and sincerity.” Stix Hooper (formerly of The Crusaders)

Includes a nine-minute version of the Donny Hathaway classic "Tryin' Times" and production by Wayne Linsey (formerly of Maze).


1. Blackbird*

2. Cry Me A River featuring The Sweet Inspirations

3. You Don't Know What Love Is

4. Runnin' Out Of Fools*

5. When Your Heart Whispers Love

6. I Could Have Told You

7. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye

8. Angel Eyes featuring Najee

9. Tryin' Times featuring The Sweet Inspirations and 4 To The S To The Midwestside

Produced by David Nathan for Nefer Music; Co-produced by Giovanna Imbesi

* Produced and Arranged by Wayne Linsey for Julius Productions

About the Writer
David Nathan is the founder and CEO of and began his writing career in 1965; beginning in 1967, he was a regular contributor to Blues & Soul magazine in London before relocating to the U.S. in 1975 where he served as U.S. editor for the publication for several decades and began being known as 'The British Ambassador Of Soul.' From 1988 to 2004, he wrote prolifically for Billboard, has penned bios, produced and written liner notes for box sets and reissue CDs for over a thousand projects. He returned to London in 2009 where he has helped create Records as a leading reissue label.
Sound Track

Members Comments