Change Background:
The Ultimate Destination for Soul Music
Home Classic Soul Archives Artist A-Z Features SoulMusic Records Voice Your Choice Soul Talkin' Reviews Hall of Fame The Soul Store
2016 2015 2014 2012 2013 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999

Track listing:

1. It's Better Than Walkin' Out
2. Brass Band
3. This Time I'll Be Sweeter
4. Think About Me
5. You And Me
6. Love Has Gone Away
7. Sing To Me
8. Take My Body
9. Be For Real
10. No Hiding Place

Bonus Track:
11. It's Better Than Walkin' Out (12” Blue Note single)

• By the time she recorded JUST A MATTER OF TIME, her final Blue Note album in 1976, Marlena Shaw was a consistent performer, building a strong base among soul and jazz fans thanks to what would become future classics such as “Woman Of The Ghetto” and “California Soul.”

• With production by noted New York hitmaker Bert DeCoteaux, JUST A MATTER OF TIME was the follow-up to her much-acclaimed 1975 LP, “Who is This Bitch, Anyway?”(reissued by SoulMusic Records In 2012, SMCR-5066, the third of Marlena’s Blue Note sets released by the label alongside “From The Depths Of My Soul, SMCR-5027).

• A best-selling US charted jazz album, JUST A MATTER OF TIME included the upstate New York-born vocalist’s take on “This Time I’ll Be Sweeter” (a song also recorded by Linda Lewis and Martha Reeves and later Angela Bofill and Roberta Flack); her own, “No Hidin’ Place”; Frederick Knight’s “Be For Real”; and “Love Has Gone Away,” previously recorded by The Spinners.

• One of the standout cuts on the album, “It’s Better Than Walkin’ Out” also provided a historic first for the prestigious Blue Note label when a 12” disco single version was issued, reaching the Top 10 on Billboard’s Dance Music and Club Play charts in 1976; it’s included as a bonus cut on this expanded edition of JUST A MATTER OF TIME which is making its worldwide CD debut.

• Includes notes by renowned U.S. writer A. Scott Galloway with quotes from a 2013 interview with Marlena for this reissue.

About the Writer
David Nathan is the founder and CEO of and began his writing career in 1965; beginning in 1967, he was a regular contributor to Blues & Soul magazine in London before relocating to the U.S. in 1975 where he served as U.S. editor for the publication for several decades and began being known as 'The British Ambassador Of Soul.' From 1988 to 2004, he wrote prolifically for Billboard, has penned bios, produced and written liner notes for box sets and reissue CDs for over a thousand projects. He returned to London in 2009 where he has helped create Records as a leading reissue label.
Sound Track



Members Comments

Read More ...
MARLENA SHAW: Who Is This Bitch, Anyway? (SMCR-5066)
Read More ...
Marlena Shaw: From The Depths Of My Soul (
Read More ...